Sign in to follow this  
Guest Guest_Lise Kim Horton_*

Pushing the Erotica Envelope

Guest Guest_Lise Kim Horton_*

I am fairly new to the writing of erotica (and this Chapter) and I wondered if I might ask a question of the members of Passionate Ink.

It seems to me that writers are more able to "push the envelope" when writing erotica in settings that are in the paranormal and futuristic genres (in particular shape shifters, vampires, etc.). I am anxious to find out if there is a consensus on this, as I am currently in the midst of writing a futuristic that is doing just that.

Having read numerous Ellora's Cave, Red, Aphrodesia, etc. titles, I find more in the way of forceful sexual encounters, and more kink in those that are in the paranormal genre, (perhaps because the genre enables the author to operate outside the boundary of what is generally accepted when writing contemporary stories, or stories taking place within traditional society (meaning historicals)).

Anyone have a thought on this?

(And thanks!)

:wink_smile:

Guest Francesca Hawley
I am fairly new to the writing of erotica (and this Chapter) and I wondered if I might ask a question of the members of Passionate Ink.

It seems to me that writers are more able to "push the envelope" when writing erotica in settings that are in the paranormal and futuristic genres (in particular shape shifters, vampires, etc.). I am anxious to find out if there is a consensus on this, as I am currently in the midst of writing a futuristic that is doing just that.

Having read numerous Ellora's Cave, Red, Aphrodesia, etc. titles, I find more in the way of forceful sexual encounters, and more kink in those that are in the paranormal genre, (perhaps because the genre enables the author to operate outside the boundary of what is generally accepted when writing contemporary stories, or stories taking place within traditional society (meaning historicals)).

Anyone have a thought on this?

(And thanks!)

:wink_smile: